And the Word of God Will Not Return Void

This morning I was reading in Acts 22 and I was doing what I normally do while reading the Bible.  I was looking for phrases that jump out at me and looking for a truth that might encourage me or prepare me for my day.  Many times I hear God speak through His Word and it prepares me for what my day holds.  Now, this would be a really great “Max Lucado-Moment” if I were to tell you how something I read this morning really made an impact on my life and I shared it with you and it helped you in some way as well.  Most of the time when God shares something with me during these times it doesn’t have much to do with anyone else.  I have shared things God told me during “our time” with others and what I have learned is that God designed it specifically for me, therefore others don’t always get excited about it as I do.

Ok, back to this morning.  This morning I was reading about Paul as he shared his testimony to the people of Jerusalem while being bound by the Centurion.  And you know what I learned this morning?  I really love the Word of God.  I didn’t learn anything new today.  God didn’t provide a new revelation to me about His promises or His vision.  He didn’t speak a hidden truth to me from the scriptures.  As I was reading this morning, I just paused.  And it that pause I learned that I love God’s Word.  I don’t love it because it guides me, or because it is God’s Words of love spoken to my heart.  (Those things are true.)  I just love it!  Not always because I get something out of it.  Sometimes the Word of God doesn’t speak a new truth on my heart.  Sometimes it doesn’t even speak to me at all.  But I still love it.  And I’m sorry but for some reason that makes me smile a stupid grin and brings a peace to my heart.  Just felt like I was supposed to share that with you this morning.  I pray that you too can be taken in by His Word today.

One thought on “And the Word of God Will Not Return Void

  1. Anna says:

    Such a blessing for me today!

Leave a comment